Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Sleep

I miss sleep. Its true. Remember there was a time when we would yell and kick and scream so we wouldn't have to go to bed, yeah , well that's definately changed. The insane amount of hw, extra-cur. actv. and other stuff that takes up time certainly takes up valuable sleeping time. Going to bed by 9:30 in elementary school was late. Going to bed by 10:30 in middle school was late. Now, 2 is the latest for me. What a dramatic change, I must say. Now, I know what you're thinking (i think) "Get off facebook, gmail, twitter, and all that time consuming stuff" That does sound like a good idea, but when I do, I just feel like someone might need the hw for a class and IM me, or a status on fb is really good, w/e. So I end up going to sleep late, and falling asleep around 2nd and 3rd period. I went to bed at 2 last night, partly because of a band thing that went to 9:30, but also because I just got bored, and as you might have seen, started this blog. But even worse is waking up at 6:30, knowing you got HALF the REQUIRED amount of sleep for a healthy life. On normal days I don't get home until 5 but that's still enough time. Oh well.

I got Halo ODST today, pretty excited. Yankees and Phillies first game tonight of the World series, should be good. Well, I better go now. Lots of *&%% to do

Started a blog

Well I mainly started this blog cause I get bored a lot when I'm doing hw (homework for the uninitiated), and I just need to let some stuff out, ya know. Anyway I hope I remember to write an entry once in a while. ok here goes.

Lol- Its not funny

If you've never heard of the phrase lol, you've been living under a rock for a while, haven't you. It means laugh out loud, grammatically incorrect if your the kind of person who obsesses over that. it used to be really just a weird nerd term, if i remember correctly. But now, people use lol even when something isn't funny, just to add something to a sentence, or lessen the blow of a rejection, for instance. Now i'm not saying I'm completely innocent, rather, I'm trying to fit in with the norm of things. Here's a sentence on one of my gmail chats:

"Lol did you finish the math hw"? "No lol I'm too lazY'

Think about how that sentence would sound without the lol. It would still work, in essence, but it feels just weird , kind of last decade. Anyway i'm done ranting about lol. I mean, was that guy really laughing out loud because he's too lazy? I doubt it. Same goes for lmao and rofl. Are you really rolling on the floor right now? To me, it seems like a sort of emotional expression of fear? boredom? IDK. I don't wanna seem like that guy who thinks cause he writes a blog he's awesome, but yeah, I really don't like the word lol. But you know what? I'm gonna use it anyway.