Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Started a blog

Well I mainly started this blog cause I get bored a lot when I'm doing hw (homework for the uninitiated), and I just need to let some stuff out, ya know. Anyway I hope I remember to write an entry once in a while. ok here goes.

Lol- Its not funny

If you've never heard of the phrase lol, you've been living under a rock for a while, haven't you. It means laugh out loud, grammatically incorrect if your the kind of person who obsesses over that. it used to be really just a weird nerd term, if i remember correctly. But now, people use lol even when something isn't funny, just to add something to a sentence, or lessen the blow of a rejection, for instance. Now i'm not saying I'm completely innocent, rather, I'm trying to fit in with the norm of things. Here's a sentence on one of my gmail chats:

"Lol did you finish the math hw"? "No lol I'm too lazY'

Think about how that sentence would sound without the lol. It would still work, in essence, but it feels just weird , kind of last decade. Anyway i'm done ranting about lol. I mean, was that guy really laughing out loud because he's too lazy? I doubt it. Same goes for lmao and rofl. Are you really rolling on the floor right now? To me, it seems like a sort of emotional expression of fear? boredom? IDK. I don't wanna seem like that guy who thinks cause he writes a blog he's awesome, but yeah, I really don't like the word lol. But you know what? I'm gonna use it anyway.

No comments:

Post a Comment